Return to IDPE Logo Higher Res (2)

Headline Sponsor 

ttlogo idpeawards logo_rgb

Celebrating excellence in schools’ fundraising and engagement

The IDPE Development Awards recognise innovation and creativity in the schools’ development sector.  Whether you are a large established development office or a ‘one man band’ these awards recognise the impact you have made and celebrate your creativity/innovation.    



We are very grateful to everyone who submitted nominations.  We would like to congratulate all of the following schools and members who have been commended by our Judging Panel.  


The winners of the inaugural IDPE 2017 Development Awards will be announced at a black-tie ceremony at this year’s annual conference on Monday 12 June.



Schools' development newcomer of the year

Recognising individual talent, excellence and potential, this award will be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and/or innovation through specific initiatives which have had significant impact on relationships and/or fundraising within their school or the wider sector.


The individual will have been working in schools’ development for no more than 4 years (at 31 August 2016) and may be a ‘one man band’ or part of a larger development team.  




Louise Dean, Development Manager, Bethany School

Julia Hodgkins, Director of Development, Godolphin and Latymer School

Jonny Hylton, Development Executive, Reigate Grammar School

Georgie Grant Haworth, Development Director, Royal Grammar School, Guildford

Alison Vernon, External Relations Director, Box Hill School



Fundraising campaign of the year

Awarded to a school that has raised the fundraising bar by demonstrating creativity and/or innovation within a fundraising campaign.  

The campaign will have met all desired outcomes and have made a positive difference to the educational experience of pupils.


The judges are not looking for the fundraising campaign that has raised the most money but rather evidence of achieving desired outcomes and of new techniques and ways of thinking that will add value to the profession and inspire the IDPE community.  




Eastbourne College, campaign led by David Stewart, Development Director

Robert Gordon’s College, campaign led by Tarah Gillespie, Interim Director, Marketing and Admissions

Reigate Grammar School, campaign led by Sean Davey, Development Director



Engagement campaign of the year

Awarded to a school, this accolade recognises community engagement within a campaign that has brought stakeholders together in support of a key innovation.  


The judges are looking for evidence of increased community participation, what difference the campaign made to the school and how it improved the educational experience of its young people.  The judges are not looking at actual engagement numbers but how the campaign engaged with the community to support a key innovation.  




St Catherine’s Bramley, campaign led by Pippa Carte, Development Director

Godolphin School, campaign led by Sarah Sowton, Head of Marketing and Alumnae



Lifetime achievement/IDPE fellowship award

The IDPE Fellowship Award has been awarded for the past three years and is open to individuals who have made a significant contribution to schools’ development.  This could be a development professional, head, bursar or governor.  


It is bestowed in recognition of the quality of the recipient’s service to education and the work of schools’ development.